PDA

View Full Version : Recommendations

JayCanuck
04-18-2007, 04:48 PM
Hi everyone,

I'm rather new to comics (though not new to their tv/movie/wikipedia adaptations). In fact, the first comic I ever actually bought was Omega Flight #1. I plan on buying the Civil War TPB and the Marvel Zombie HC (4th printing). Recently I bought several of the old Alpha Flight comics (fav char is Northstar).

I'm looking for other current comics out there in the Marvel Universe that could be worth a good look at. I'm heard lots of good things about New Avengers and even good stuff about the Young Avengers (though I am worried about how child-like and immature the book could be). What other comics would you guys would reccommend?

On a side note, I know Northstar, Ulimate Collosus, Wiccan, and Hulking are gay, but are there any other current marvel heroes that are gay?

SmurfInABlender
04-18-2007, 05:19 PM
Checkmate from DC is really good if you're in to political stuff, really cool look on things, and its only on issue 13 so you have the ability to get the rest for a reasojable price on ebay

I really like Namor, it is discontinued, but if you liek Byrnes work on Alpha you'll love Namor which began in 1990, i'm in the midsts of collecting those now

as for graphic Novels, a musr woukld of course be Watchmen...GREAT story and is beign adapted for film in 2008 I believe. The V for Vendetta one is great too

as for current comics, I'm currently buyign Omega, Checkmate, Mighty Avengers, and avengers initiative.. I'm fairly new to comics aswell so i havn't gotten really deep yet either. \

've also heard amazing thigns about Immortal Iron Fist and also about The Runaways, I look to start buyign those soon aswell

Barnacle13
04-18-2007, 05:20 PM